Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

First Time DUI – Florida DUI Law

DUI’s do not just happen to criminals – anyone can get arrested for DUI. If you go to a party or dinner and have a few drinks, you could be stopped by the police on your way home and arrested for DUI. At Florida Law Advisers, P.A., our DUI attorneys have years of experience defending clients who have never faced criminal charges before, but are now facing DUI charges. We understand that you probably have a lot of questions and are nervous about the potential consequences you may be facing if convicted. Florida Law Advisers, P.A. is here to help, and we will not only aggressively fight to get the charges against you dropped, we will also keep you well-informed throughout the entire legal process and answer any questions you may have.

Automatic License Suspension

If you have been arrested for DUI, your driver’s license will automatically suspended for at least 6 months by the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). You must contest the license suspension and file for a hearing with the DHSMV within 10 days of your arrest. If you do not file for a hearing within 10 days of the arrest, you will lose your opportunity to contest the suspension. The DHSMV hearing does not determine if you will face criminal penalties for DUI, it only determines whether or not you will retain your driving privileges. If you are successful at getting the license reinstated at the DHSMV hearing, you may still lose your driving privileges if later found guilty in the criminal DUI hearing. Therefore, it is important to have competent legal representation during both your DHSMV and criminal DUI hearing.

If you have been arrested for DUI, contact Florida Law Advisers, P.A. to speak with a DUI lawyer right away. A Tampa DUI attorney at our firm can request a DHSMV hearing on your behalf, help you get a temporary hardship license while your hearing with the DMSHV is pending, and represent you throughout the DHSMV and criminal DUI process.

Possible Penalties for a Misdemeanor First Offense DUI:

-Prison sentence up to 6 months

-Fines up to $1,000

-Driver’s license suspension for up to 1 year

-Probation for up to 1 year

-Up to 50 hours of community service

-DUI counseling

-10 day vehicle impoundment

-6 month ignition interlock device installation

Under Florida DUI law, most DUI arrests will be charged as a misdemeanor. However, a number of factors may result in harsher penalties than those listed above, and even escalate the existing charge to a felony DUI charge. A felony DUI will result in more severe penalties for the driver than a misdemeanor DUI. For instance, you may be charged with a felony DUI if you caused serious bodily injury to another person while you were operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, even if it is your first DUI offense.

Contact an Experienced Florida DUI Lawyer

The Tampa DUI attorneys at our firm are experienced and skilled at all stages of a criminal DUI arrest and DHSMV hearing. We carefully scrutinize every detail of a case to identify any potential errors by police, violations of constitutional rights, mishandling of evidence, or sloppy police work that we can use to help our clients. If the police committed an error during your arrest or violated your constitutional rights, you may be entitled to get the charges against you dropped in their entirety. If you have questions about your DUI arrest or would like a free case review, contact us today by phone, website form, or email to speak with a DUI lawyer.

LEGAL REPRESENTATION

YOU CAN TRUST

Knowledgeable &
Experienced

FREE Initial
Consultation

No Nonsense
Case Evaluation

Flexible
Payment Options

WHAT OUR

CLIENTS ARE SAYING

Excellent 9.7 of 10

Based on 86 reviews. Click below to see our reviews:

See Our Reviews

Search Florida
Legal Advice

DOWNLOAD

FREE E-BOOKS





RECENT

Blog Posts & News

Unfortunately, without a way to enforce it, judgements can sometimes…

The amount and duration of a rehabilitative alimony award is…

There are many factors that a judge may consider when determining if an award of alimony is appropriate. If alimony is appropriate the court will then have to determine the amount of alimony to be paid and the duration of payments. Regardless, the award of alimony may not leave the one paying the alimony with significantly less net income than the net income of the recipient unless there are written findings of exceptional circumstances.

Get Our Newsletter












Get a Free Consultation

Call, Email or Chat with a licensed attorney today!

Florida Law Advisers, P.A. Proudly Serves the Following Cities & Counties

Cities: Tampa Bay, Clearwater, St. Petersburg, Bradenton (Inquire about other cities)

Counties: Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Sarasota, Manatee (Inquire about other cities)

Click Here For
LIVE CHAT!





Send Us A Message