An ignition interlock device commonly used by Tampa Bay area law enforcement is the Alcolock, manufactured by Alcohol Countermeasure Systems Corp. The IID is connected to the car’s ignition and will prevent the vehicle from starting if alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath. The device is very similar to a breathalyzer test; the driver will blow into the device and the IID will measure the amount of alcohol in the breath. If the blood alcohol content is above the set limit, the device will prevent the engine from starting. In addition, the device may require random breath samples while the engine is running. If the sample is not provided, an alarm will sound and continue until either the engine is turned off or a proper breath reading is provided. Furthermore, all data captured by the IID is recorded and made available to law enforcement via the internet 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
The driver is required to pay all costs associated with the installation and maintenance of the IID. The device must be installed in every vehicle that is either solely or jointly owned by the driver – not just the driver’s primary vehicle. The costs for the IID include a $12 interlock fee, $75 installation fee, $72.50 monthly monitoring fee, and either a $100 refundable deposit or a $5 monthly insurance charge for the device.
When an Ignition Interlock Device is Required
-First DUI Conviction: Generally, will not be required for a first time DUI conviction. However, there are many situations which may lead to a court ordered IID installation. For instance, if the driver’s blood alcohol content was over 0.15, or if there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest, the device must be installed for at least 6 months. These are only examples, there are other factors which may lead to IID installation for a first time DUI offense. For more information on first time DUI convictions that may result in IID installation call us today to speak with a DUI defense lawyer.
-Second DUI Conviction: Device must be installed for a minimum of one year. However, if the driver’s blood alcohol content was over 0.15, or if there was a minor in the vehicle, installation will be required for at least 2 years.
-Third DUI Conviction: Installed for a minimum of 2 years.
-Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Installed for a minimum of 5 years.
Contact an Experienced Florida DUI Lawyer
Ignition interlock device installation is just one penalty drivers can face when convicted of DUI. Drunk driving in Florida is a serious offense, which can have devastating consequences. If you have been arrested for DUI, contact Florida Law Advisers, P.A. for help. Our Tampa DUI attorneys have years of experience in helping clients beat their DUI charges. We carefully scrutinize every detail of each case to identify any potential errors by police, violations of constitutional rights, mishandling of evidence, or sloppy police work that we can use to help our clients. Each DUI case is unique, so we carefully develop a comprehensive legal strategy that is individualized for each client. To find out if we can help you beat your DUI charges or for answers to your legal questions, contact us today by phone, email, or website form.