Proud Member Of:

Florida Law Advisers, PA, Attorneys, Tampa, FL

This Attorney is Lead Counsel Rated. Click here for more Information.

Autism Puzzle Ribbon - Florida Law Advisers handles many family law cases for special needs children

For a FREE Consultation Call:
1  (800)  990 - 7763

DUI Lawyers for driving with a susepnded license in the Tampa Bay Area, Florida DUI Attorneys

We Are Available 24/7
Call Now to Speak With an Attorney

Get a FREE Case Review

Call 1 (800) 990-7763 or Fill
Out the Form Below:

Driving With a Suspended License

If you have been arrested for DUI, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for at least 6 months by the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).  You must contest the license suspension and file for a hearing with the DHSMV within 10 days of your arrest. If you do not file for a hearing within 10 days of the arrest you will lose your opportunity to contest the suspension. If you choose to drive while your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled you may be criminally charged under Florida Statute §322.34 and face severe penalties. If you are arrested for driving without a valid license you should contact a suspended license defense attorney in Tampa right away. Speaking with a lawyer experienced in these matters may help you beat the charges and get your driver’s license reinstated.

To be convicted of driving with a suspended license the driver must know that their license had been suspended. Simply driving a vehicle with a suspended license is not enough for a conviction. The prosecutor must prove  that driver’s license was suspended and that the driver knew of the suspension at the time of the arrest. If the driver was never notified of the suspension, it may be impossible for the prosecutor to show that the driver had knowledge of the suspension and therefore have no choice but to drop the charges.

Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License

·First Offense is a 2nd degree misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to 60 days

·Second Offense is a 1st degree misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to 1 year

·Third or subsequent offense is a 3rd degree felony punishable by imprisonment of up to 5 years

Contact a Suspended License Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested for driving with a suspended license, contact us today to speak with a Tampa criminal defense lawyer who is experienced in license suspension matters. An attorney at our firm can help you fight the charges by developing a comprehensive legal strategy based on the facts of your case. Our attorneys have years of experience helping clients overcome license suspension charges, and may be able to use their skill and experience to help you get your driving privileges reinstated and the criminal charges against you dropped.

Send Us a Message

Florida Law Advisers, P. A.

2202 N Westshore Blvd, Ste 200
Tampa, FL 33607

Phone: 1 (800) 990-7763

Fax: 1 (800) 990-1033

E-mail: info@FloridaLegalAdvice.com

Map of Our Location

   Florida Law Advisers, PA, Attorneys, Tampa, FL   This Attorney is Lead Counsel Rated. Click here for more Information.