Close Menu

Can a parent waive child support?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Under Florida law, a parent cannot waive child support. Technically, child support is owed to the child and the parent does not have the ability to waive it. Further, judges may not complete a custody or divorce case unless child support is addressed.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How do I get child support if the other parent hides income?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

If a parent is hiding income, the court can impute a salary on that parent. The court can also impute income if a parent is unemployed or underemployed. If proven, the parent will be obligated to pay support based on the imputed salary.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How to get child support when a parent is unemployed

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

The court can impute income if a parent is unemployed or underemployed. If proven, the parent will be obligated to pay support based on the imputed salary. In imputation cases, the court will consider the parent’s work history, qualifications, and prevailing income level in the community.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Can I collect back-owed child support?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Yes, Florida law allows a parent to seek retroactive child support for up to 24 months. Prior to the enactment of the retroactive child support law, back child support for paternity cases was not limited to 24 months and could go as far back as to the birth of the child.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

What if the other parent is not paying child support?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

If the other parent has stopped paying support without court approval you may have grounds to file a motion for contempt. If the motion is granted, the court will require the support to be paid. Additionally, they can impose penalties against the party who failed to pay.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

When does child support stop?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Normally, child support ends when the child turns 18. However, the support can be extended until the child turns 19, if the child is still in high school. Additionally, if there are special needs for the child, support may be extended past 19 years of age.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How do I start child support?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

A petition to establish child support can be filed in court to establish child support. The amount of support will be based on Florida’s Child Support Guidelines. You are not required to hire an attorney, but it is recommended to obtain an attorney.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How do I get custody rights if I pay child support?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Paying child support does not necessarily also include child custody rights. If the other parent is withholding custody, you may need to file a petition to establish parenting plan. When deciding custody, the judge will review all the details of the case and award custody based on what is in the child’s best interest.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Get your free 15-minute
consultation*
* Required Field

By submitting this form I acknowledge that contacting Florida Law Advisers, P.A., through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

protected by reCAPTCHA Privacy - Terms
*We offer free consultations for most legal matters.
Bradenton Herald
Worth
The Miami Herald
Newsday
IBTimes
Tampa, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Tampa, Florida
1120 E Kennedy Blvd, Unit 231
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: (800) 990-7763

Orlando, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Orlando, Florida
111 N Orange Ave, Suite 800
Orlando, FL 32801
Phone: (800) 990-7763

Dade City, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Dade City, Florida
38100 Meridian Ave
Dade City, FL 33525
Phone: (800) 990-7763