Close Menu

Is a collaborative divorce different than mediation?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Typically, in a collaborative divorce there is no mediator. Instead, the parties and their attorneys work together to negotiate terms. A mediator can be used in collaborative divorces but is generally avoided to help reduce costs.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How do I file for an uncontested divorce in Florida?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

In an uncontested divorce, the parties agree on the terms of the divorce prior to filing the case. Florida is a “no-fault” state, therefore; you won’t have to provide evidence of adultery or abuse for a divorce. Florida law only requires you to allege the marriage is irretrievably broken.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How much does a divorce in Hillsborough County cost?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

The filing fee for a divorce case in Hillsborough County is $408. The filing fee for contested and uncontested divorces is the same. However, the Court may also charge additional fees for a summons or other documents.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How long does an uncontested divorce in Florida take?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Most often, an uncontested divorce in Florida can be completed within 45 – 90 days. Typically, only one court hearing is necessary to complete the case. Further, only one spouse may be required to attend the final hearing.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

What is an uncontested divorce?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

In an uncontested divorce, the parties agree on the terms of the divorce prior to filing the case. Therefore, any issues regarding property division, alimony, child custody, or child support must be agreed upon prior to filing the divorce. If there are any disagreements the case will be ineligible for an uncontested divorce.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

How much does an uncontested divorce in Florida cost?

By Florida Law Advisers, P.A. |

Most uncontested divorces will be eligible for a flat-fee. The flat-fee covers all of the costs for the case, as long as it remains uncontested. The flat-fee will vary based on the number of children and assets involved. Typically, the flat-fee will range between $1,500 – $2,400.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Get your free 15-minute
consultation*
* Required Field

By submitting this form I acknowledge that contacting Florida Law Advisers, P.A., through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

protected by reCAPTCHA Privacy - Terms
*We offer free consultations for most legal matters.
Bradenton Herald
Worth
The Miami Herald
Newsday
IBTimes
Tampa, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Tampa, Florida
1120 E Kennedy Blvd, Unit 231
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: (800) 990-7763

Orlando, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Orlando, Florida
111 N Orange Ave, Suite 800
Orlando, FL 32801
Phone: (800) 990-7763

Dade City, Florida
Tampa, Florida
Florida Law Advisers, P.A.

Dade City, Florida
38100 Meridian Ave
Dade City, FL 33525
Phone: (800) 990-7763